Drowning Your Blues in Wine

Beauty Along - Drown Your Blues in WineThis week is my “But I can’t…” Week. I am proving to myself that all the things I always say I can’t do with makeup (I can’t wear that color. I can’t do that technique. Etc), I can actually do! This one is a double whammy: “I can’t wear blues,” and “I can’t line my lower waterline with a dark color.”

I have always tended toward warm colors. They look best on me, it’s true. But that doesn’t mean other colors don’t also look great in their own way. And honestly, how much of it is what I can’t do, and how much of it is I just haven’t learned how to do it right for me personally?

The dark lower waterline has been something I used to love to do when I first started bellydancing. I would khol my eyes a lot back in the day. It does tend to close my eyes in a bit, but the sexy, smoky look it gives is undeniably fab. I stopped doing it not just because of the eye closing in and my focus has been on effective performance makeup (where the eyes need to be LARGER THAN LIFE!), but because I have very watery eyes and nothing tends to stay on my waterline for long

Drown Your Blues in WineThis photo does not communicate it well, but that color on my lid is actually a deep cobalt blue. I am trying to prove to myself I can wear blues. I then blended the upper edge of the blues with a burgundy, hence “drowning my blues in wine”.

The upper lash line is tightlined with a charcoal liner, the lower with a midnight blue pencil liner and then the blue shadow color stippled on top to help it stay longer. Sadly, the shadow has some glitter in it and is the only blue I own, so it wasn’t a great choice for this step. Two coats of black mascara.

Materials:
Almay Bright Eyes Eye Primer (discontinued)
NYX Jumbo Eyeshadow Pencil in Cobalt
Stila Smudge Stick Waterproof Eyeliner in Halfmoon (from the In The Know matte palette)
NYX Slim Eye Pencil in Sapphire
L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Midnight Blue
Brows: Mac Texture
Almay One Coat Nourishing  Mascara – Lengthening – Dark Brown

Leave a Reply

